This guy can’t wait to tell you about his new blog!

They say that one learns through writing. If you ask who “they” is, I think the author’s name is Wardle, and it is a famous book on writing theory that I cannot recall the name nor want to look up at this time. They also say that writing is an activity that demands creativity and that is my purpose for starting this blog. I lately find myself sucked into the same loop of school, work and video games. For the larger part of my life I have been satisfied with this loop. However, adult life is coming quick. Not to say that just working and getting by isn’t being adult, but certainly there is more for me to explore. That being said, it is kinda shitty to think you are made for better and greater thing, but I can explore that in a later entry. Anyways, this particular blog is meant to introduce me, my goals, my goals for this blog, and all that good jazz everyone will skip and just read the second blog. However, this seems like an entry that is required by the genre of blogging, and as a pleb I must abide by the rules for now.

That’s semi good introduction, but it is only half the story. To be completely honest, I hate losing, failing, and being bad at things. That being said, this blog for me is also a way to recover from my failed attempt at a study abroad YouTube channel, ZachinJapan. Being in front of a camera was much to stressful, and at the time dealing with culture shock and feelings of isolation, despite making wonderful friends, made handling a project like that much to stressful. I think that I was also lacking much of the confidence required of making such a project work. Even more so, I felt with all the studying I was doing it made making time for producing videos hard, as well as looking up ways hat I could further improve the quality of videos. All in all, at that time of my life I was much to busy and lazy to provide content that I could be happy about despite the positive feedback. Although I wish I stayed active on that account because I was asked some questions about going to the school I attended and really wished I could help those curious few. I do plan to reboot the channel or create a new one, but ideas are just in the air. Nothing has come into fruition yet.

Having not eaten this morning and debating whether or not to go buy a breakfast burrito or just make oatmeal has me torn. Almost as torn as whether or not I include some form of content ideas so you can get a grasp of what I want to talk about. However, I am just winging this blog and really have no exact goals except to write more and gain a little confidence expressing myself to the world. I can see myself writing about books or anime or manga, but I cannot know for sure. With my upcoming plans to go to Georgia (the state), Mexico, and Greece this summer I will definitely be writing about those awesome opportunities. However, I do not want to be boring and just record surface level content. I want to dive into the conventions of the things I talk about, and really try to be conscious about my actions in life. There is a word for this, metacognition. The idea of metacognition is totally consuming my everyday life, pulling me out of the present to reflect on what I am doing and why, which feels like a trip and is fun to explore. For unusual words I’ll hyperlink so you can follow along, but I really am only doing this to seem multimodal.

It seems strange to do like a bio of myself since most of the people that read this will be close friends and family, but just so you have an idea of where I come from with my writings, I’ll give a quick blurb. I’m Zach. I’m rather nerdy, but not comparable to my friend Matt. He goes ham, and I’m a pleb in comparison. (That was so he doesn’t roast my ass). I want to teach English in Japan and seeing as I graduate next semester that goal seems closer than ever. I lived there this last summer studying abroad and barely even tapped into the culture and the greatness Japan has to offer. You want to know my reasons for teaching abroad? Well when examining my set of skills and hobbies, I came to a realization. I have no skills, so as they say, those that can’t teach right? Wrong. I actually hate that quote-It assumes that teachers are wastes to society and that ain’t cool. (Unless you are a like a golf teacher at college, then that’s pretty much a waste). I was inspired by some Japanese classes I took at my local community college to teach. I thought that if learning Japanese was fun for me, then I am sure some nice people in Japan would feel the same about English.

So there you have it, I’m struggling with not being creative, failing at my YouTube channel has left a hole of despair in me that needs filling, and I have no particular skills I find of value at this moment. But hey, this blog should be a way to work out those issue’s. That being said, I am off to grab that breakfast burrito, I am starved.

Leave a comment